Fifa World Cup Trophy

Fifa World Cup Trophy


The World Cup is a gold trophy that is awarded to the winners of the FIFA World Cup. Since the advent of the World Cup in 1930, two trophies have represented victory: the Jules Rimet Trophy from 1930 to 1970, and the FIFA World Cup Trophy from 1974 to the present day.

The Jules Rimet Trophy, originally named Victory, but later renamed in honour of former FIFA president Jules Rimet, was made of gold platedsterling silver and lapis lazuli and depicted Nike, the Greek goddess of victory.The Brazilian team won the tournament for the third time in 1970, allowing them to keep the real trophy in perpetuity, as had been stipulated by Jules Rimet in 1930. However, the cup was stolen again on 19 December 1983, when it was taken from a display at the Brazilian Football Confederation headquarters.

The trophy was kept in a cabinet with a front of bullet-proof glass, but a rear made of wood was pried open with a crowbar. The trophy was never recovered. Four men were eventually tried and convicted in absentia for the crime. The Confederation commissioned a replica of their own, made by Eastman Kodak. This replica was presented to the Brazilian president in 1984.

The replacement trophy was first presented at the 1974 FIFA World Cup, to West Germany captain Franz Beckenbauer. Designed by Silvio Gazzaniga, it stands 36.5 centimetres (14.4 inches) tall and is made of 5 kg (11 lb) of 18 carat (75%) solid gold with a base (13 centimetres in diameter) containing two layers of malachite. The trophy depicts two human figures holding up the Earth.

FIFA’s regulations now state that the trophy, unlike its predecessor, cannot be won outright: the winners of the tournament receive a replica (gold plated rather than solid gold).

Shortly before the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany, the trophy was briefly returned to Italy for restoration before eventually being awarded to the same country. 



Queensoccer – Online Soccer Jersey Shop

Cactus Blog – Cactus & Succulent Blog

Omygarden – Gardening site

More Fifa World Cup Articles